Steve Largent

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Ring_of_Honor_logo140Steve Largent spent fourteen years with the Seahawks (1976 – 1989), playing in 200 regular-season games.

Taken in the fourth round of the 1976 NFL Draft by the Houston Oilers, he was traded to the expansion Seattle Seahawks for a 1977 eighth-round pick.

When Largent retired, he held all major NFL receiving records, including: most receptions in a career (819), most receiving yards in a career (13,089), and most touchdown receptions (100). He was also in possession of a then-record streak of 177 consecutive regular-season games with a reception. He also holds the distinction as the first receiver in NFL history to achieve 100 touchdown receptions in his career.

He was selected to the Pro Bowl seven times (1978, 1979, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987), and was the first Seahawk to ever be selected to the Pro Bowl.

His career honors & awards include: AP First-Team All-Pro in 1985, Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1988, Bart Starr Man of the Year in 1988, and a member of the NFL 1980s All-Decade Team. He was also a member of the Seahawks 35th Anniversary Team in 2010.

In 1989, Largent became the first Seahawks player to win the Steve Largent Award for his spirit, dedication and integrity.

He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1995, his first year of eligibility, and the first Seahawk to enter the Hall.

Largent’s jersey #80 was retired in 1992, and he was the first Seahawks player to be so honored (since joined by Cortez Kennedy’s retired #96 in 2012, Walter Jones’ retired #71 in 2014, and Kenny Easley’s retired #45 in 2017.).