Shaun Alexander in Orange Bowl HoF

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

The 2018 Orange Bowl capped a weekend of celebration for Seahawks Legend Shaun Alexander. Not only did his alma matar, Alabama, get a 45-34 win over Oklahoma, but he was officially presented as a member of the 2018 Orange Bowl Hall of Fame.

Joining Alexander in the class of 2018 are: Derrick Alexander (DL, FSU – 1994 Orange Bowl), Frank Beamer (Head Coach, Virginia Tech – 1996, 2008, 2009, 2011 Orange Bowl), Scott Frost (QB, Nebraska – 1996, 1998 Orange Bowl), and Bob Stoops (Head Coach, Oklahoma – 2001, 2005, 2015 Orange Bowl).

The National Championship game between Alabama and Clemson on January 7 will also feature the premiere of the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award presentation.

The five inductees were recognized at an Orange Bowl coaches luncheon, and then presented to the crowd in an on-field ceremony at the game.

Alexander played in the 2000 Orange Bowl, where he ran for 165 yards and three touchdowns as Alabama lost 35-34 in overtime to a Tom Brady-quarterbacked Michigan team. He was the SEC’s Player of the Year and a consensus All-American in the 2000 season after rushing for 1,383 yards and 19 touchdowns.

“This has been very special. Who thinks about getting into the Hall of Fame?,” said Alexander. “You just think about playing well and doing something special on the field. To get accolades from it is very sweet. Great memories.”

As the 19th pick in the first round of 2000 NFL Draft by the Seahawks, Alexander left Alabama with 15 school records and three SEC marks.

He joins four other Seahawks Legends who are also members of the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame:

Bennie Blades (U. of Miami, Seahawks safety – 1997) – inducted in 2010
Dennis Erickson (Miami Florida head coach, Seahawks head coach – 1995-1998) – inducted in 2006
Franco Harris (Penn State, Seahawks fullback – 1984) – inducted in 1989
Gino Torretta (Miami Florida, Seahawks quarterback – 1996-1997) – inducted in 1998

Shaun with his Orange Bowl Hall of Fame plaque.