More Legends for the Hall of Fame?

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Four Seahawks Legends and one former Seahawks assistant coach are among the nominees for the 2018 Class of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The nominees are: Robert Gallery (guard – 2011), Jacob Green (defensive end – 1980-1992), E.J. Junior (linebacker – 1992-1993), Dave Dickenson (quarterback – 2002), and former linebackers coach Ken Norton Jr. (2010-2014).

The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

The 2018 class will officially be inducted during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will be permanently enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta later that December and honored on the field during the 14th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.


Dave Dickenson, Montana-Quarterback-Two-time First Team All-American and 1995 Walter Payton Award winner…Set numerous NCAA, conference and school records en route to leading the Grizzlies to the 1995 I-AA National Championship…Three-time Big Sky Offensive MVP who led the nation in passing in 1994-95 and named an NFF National Scholar-Athlete as a senior.

Robert Gallery, Iowa-Offensive Tackle-2003 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the 2003 Outland Trophy…Two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection and Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year as a senior…Led Hawkeyes to a Big Ten title, Orange Bowl appearance and a No. 8 final ranking in 2002.

Jacob Green, Texas A&M-Defensive Lineman-1979 First Team All-American and two-time All-SWC selection…Set A&M records for career sacks (37) and single-season sacks (20 in 1979)…Owns school records for career fumbles caused (12) and season fumbles caused (six in 1978)…Led Aggies to berths in the 1977 Bluebonnet and 1978 Hall of Fame bowls.

E.J. Junior, Alabama-Defensive End-1980 unanimous First Team All-American and member of two national championship teams (1978, 1979)…Three-time First Team All-SEC selection and 1980 SEC Lineman of the Year, who led Tide to two conference titles…Member of fabled goal-line stand defense vs. Penn State in 1979 Sugar Bowl.

Ken Norton Jr., UCLA-Linebacker-1987 First Team All-American, leading Bruins to four consecutive bowl wins… Member of the 1985 conference championship team… Led team in tackles in 1986 (106) and in 1987 (125) and ranks sixth in school history with 339 career tackles… Finalist in 1987 for the Butkus Award and was named the team’s defensive MVP.

The criteria for Hall of Fame consideration include:

• First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America teams.
• A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate football played.
• While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and his fellow man, with love of his country. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether or not the candidate earned a college degree.
• Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years. For example, to be eligible for the 2018 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1968 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

Of the 5.19 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 987 players, including the 2017 class, have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than two ten-thousandths (.0002) of one percent of those who have played the game during the past 149 years.