Kevin Mawae to be Inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

MawaeJersey350_0223Congratulations to Seahawks alumni Kevin Mawae, who will be inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame this June.

An LSU standout, Mawae was one of the NFL’s top offensive linemen for 16 seasons, being voted to eight Pro Bowls and selected to seven All-Pro teams.

“I’m proud to be one of the inductees and represent the state of Louisiana, LSU and my family,” said Mawae. “I thank Coach (Mike) Archer, who recruited me, and all the coaches I played for while I was at LSU. It’s just an honor and a privilege.”

Even after his remarkable playing career ended after the 2010 NFL Pro Bowl, Mawae had a major influence on the NFL in his role as president of the NFL Players Association from 2008-12.

A standout player at Leesville High School in Louisiana, Mawae lined up in college at left tackle, left guard and center, and was a long snapper for the Tigers from 1990-93. He earned first-team All-SEC honors in 1991 and capped his college career by playing in the Blue-Gray Game and the Senior Bowl.

Mawae played guard in his first two NFL seasons after being taken in the second round of the 1994 draft (36th pick overall) by the Seahawks. He moved to center in 1996 and played 14 seasons there for the Seahawks (1994-1997), New York Jets (1998-2005) and Tennessee Titans (2006-2009), starting 238 of 241 games played during his career – including all 16 regular-season games 12 times.

A year after his retirement, he ranked 14th in NFL history with 238 starts. His eight Pro Bowl selections included six in a row from 1999-2004, and the final two came with the Titans (2008-09). Mawae was a first-team selection on at least one of the All-Pro teams in seven of his 16 seasons (AP first-team pick in 1999, 2001 and 2008).

During the 2008 offseason, Mawae and his family spent two weeks in Africa with Children’s Cup International Relief, and he also created the First and Goal Challenge to benefit the Child Life Program and Pediatric Services at Winthrop University Hospital in New York. Mawae served as his team’s NFL player rep from 1999-2001, and was on the NFL Players Association Executive Committee from 2002-12, capping his stay with a four-year term as president, and helping navigate a contentious labor dispute with owners and saving the 2011 season with a long-term agreement.

The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame includes 16 Pro Football Hall of Fame members, nine members of the Basketball Hall of Fame, six of the NBA’s 50 Greatest Players, six baseball Hall of Fame inductees, seven Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame enshrinees, 18 Olympic medalists (10 gold medal winners), 32 College Football Hall of Fame members, five National High School Hall of Fame enshrines, jockeys with a combined 12 Triple Crown victories, six world boxing champions, five College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees, three NBA Finals MVPs, and two Super Bowl MVPs.

Joining Mawae in the induction ceremonies this June are:

RONALD ARDOIN – Horse Racing
ERVIN JOHNSON – Basketball (Seattle SuperSonics – 1993 1st round draft pick)
JAMES JONES – Basketball
ANNA KOLL – Multi-Athlete
CHANDA RUBIN – Women’s Tennis
ED “SKEETS” TUOHY – High School Basketball Coach