Kevin Mawae in 2019 Pro Football HoF

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Congratulations to Seahawks Legend Kevin Mawae, who is one of the eight new members of the 2019 Class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Mawae was a second-round draft pick by the Seahawks in the 1994 NFL Draft, where he played 4 seasons at center (1994-1997). He would go on to play 8 seasons with the N.Y. Jets (1998-2005) and 4 seasons with the Tennessee Titans (2006-2009).

The eight-time Pro Bowler said he was elated when he heard David Baker, the Hall of Fame president and chief executive, knock on his hotel door to inform him of the news.

“It caught me off guard,” Mawae said. “When they say the knock’s going to be a big, boisterous knock, they weren’t lying. It was thunderous. I was supposed to have my wife record the emotion, but I threw my phone across the room and I think I had a higher vertical today than I did at the draft. It’s just overwhelming, it really is.”

Mawae made three All-Pro teams during his 16-year NFL career, and joins Mike Webster, Dwight Stevenson and Jim Otto among the few true centers in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Mawae’s wife, Tracy, will present him at the ceremonies. “She’s been with me since I was a redshirt freshman in college, she goes in with me,” he said.

A third-year finalist, Mawae joins four other modern-era finalists: first-time nominees TE Tony Gonzalez, CB Champ Bailey and S Ed Reed, along with third-year finalist CB Ty Law. Contributors Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt, as well as seniors finalist Johnny Robinson were also selected for enshrinement.

Former Seahawks offensive lineman Steve Hutchinson was also a finalist, as well as former Seahawks head coach Tom Flores.

Mawae is now the 11th player with Seahawks ties in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Four played their entire careers with the Seahawks: Steve Largent (inducted in 1995), Cortez Kennedy (inducted in 2012), Walter Jones (inducted in 2014), and Kenny Easley (inducted in 2017). Other players and coaches who were with the Seahawks during their careers: Jack Christiansen (Assistant Coach/Defensive Backs (1978-1982), Mike McCormack – President & General Manager (1982-1989), Coach (1982), Franco Harris – Running Back (1984), Carl Eller – Defensive End (1979), Warren Moon – Quarterback (1997-1998), John Randle – Defensive Tackle (2001-2003), and Jerry Rice – Wide Receiver (2004).

The 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend is August 1 – August 4 in Canton, Ohio, with the enshrinement ceremony itself on Saturday, August 3.

Kevin Mawae stands center along with his fellow 2019 Class members.