Kenny Easley is a Senior Finalist for the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Kenny Easley and Jacob Green.

Easley240_0815Seahawks Legend Kenny Easley has been selected as the Senior Finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017. Easley was picked by the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee that met in Canton, Ohio, on Monday, August 15.

Easley was selected out of UCLA by the Seahawks as the fourth player overall in the 1981 NFL Draft. He became an immediate starter as a rookie, recording three interceptions for 155 yards and one touchdown, earning him AFC Defensive Rookie of the Year honors. In 1983, his first season playing for new head coach Chuck Knox, Easley won the AFC Defensive Player of the Year Award and recorded seven interceptions. In 1984, Easley led the NFL in interceptions with ten – which tied a team record – returning two of them for touchdowns. He was named as the NFL Defensive Player of the Year for his efforts.

Easley300_0815On November 4, 1984, during a 45–0 win against the Kansas City Chiefs, the Seahawks returned four interceptions for touchdowns, including one caught and returned by Easley, breaking the NFL record for most touchdowns scored from an interception in a game.

Easley had 32 interceptions for 538 yards and three touchdowns in his seven years (1981-1987) with the Seahawks.

Among his honors and awards: five-time Pro Bowl selection (1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1987), four-time first-team All-Pro (1982, 1983, 1984, 1985), NFL Defensive Player of the Year (1984), NFL 1980s All-Decade Team. He was inducted into the Seahawks Ring of Honor in 2002, and was also a member of the Seahawks 35th Anniversary Team (2010).

He is also recovering from triple bypass surgery, news he tweeted out a week ago: “Fans and friends, I missed my golf tourney in Seattle due to triple bypass heart surgery.” He followed up with, “Minor setback for a major comeback!”

The Seniors Committee is comprised of nine members of the overall selection committee. Through mail vote, the 2017 senior nominees were reduced to a final list of candidates. Then, on a rotating basis, five of the nine members met at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton to discuss each of the senior candidates and select the finalist. A senior nominee is a player whose career ended at least 25 years ago.

Easley must receive the same 80 percent voting support that is required of all finalists. The Hall’s Selection Committee, at its annual meeting to be held on Saturday, February 4, 2017 in Houston, Texas, will consider 18 finalists, including one Senior (Easley), two Contributors (to be named Tuesday, Aug. 16), and 15 Modern-Era finalists (to be determined from a preliminary list announced in mid-September). Current bylaws call for a class no smaller than four or larger than eight. The Senior Finalist will be voted on for election independent of the other finalists.

The Class of 2017 will be formally enshrined during the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week in Canton, Ohio, next August.