Kenny Easley & Charle Young Named to Pac-12’s All-Century Team

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather


Kenny Easley made a name for himself in the NFL as a safety for the Seahawks (1981-1987), but he recently received big props by being named to the Pac-12’s “All Century Team” as a safety for UCLA. And joining him on the “All Century Team” is former Seahawks tight end Charle Young, who played the same position for USC.

Kenny Easley

Kenny Easley

Easley started 10 games his freshman year with the Bruins, recording nine interceptions and was named to his first all Pac-10 squad. His 93 tackles established a school record for tackles by a freshman. He later became the first player in conference history to be honored as all-conference for four consecutive years.

Playing from 1977 to 1980, Easley finished his college career with a school-record nineteen interceptions and 324 tackles. He was selected as a three-time consensus All-American selection (1978, 1979, and 1980) and finished ninth in the Heisman Trophy balloting in 1980. His jersey number was retired by the school, and in 1991 he was elected to the UCLA Athletic Hall of Fame and the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Seahawks selected Easley as the 4th pick in the 1st round of the 1981 NFL Draft.

Charle Young

Charle Young

Young was a unanimous first-team All-America at USC in 1972, and he appeared in the Hula Bowl and College All-Star Game. Nicknamed “Tree” by an assistant coach because of his long arms, Young was a  First-Team All-Conference selection who led the Trojans to a Pacific-8 Conference title and a national championship in 1972.

Named USC’s Lineman of the Year in 1972, Young set a school record for receptions by a tight end with 62. In three seasons, he amassed 1,008 receiving yards and ten touchdowns. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2004.

Three of his five children also attended USC, including daughter Candace, a member of the Trojans’ 2001 NCAA championship track and field team.

Young played for the Philadelphia Eagles (1973-1976, NFL Rookie of the Year in 1973), Los Angeles Rams (1977-1979), San Francisco 49ers (1980-1982 – Super Bowl XVI Champions), and Seattle Seahawks (1983-1986).

The Pac-12 Networks announced the Pac-12’s “All-Century Team” on December 9, after compiling ballots from 119 players, coaches and media members. A contingent of the All-Century Team members will be honored in a special on-field presentation prior to the Pac-12 Football Championship Game between Stanford and USC on Saturday, December 12, in Santa Clara, California.

The Pac-12 All Century Team:

John Elway, Stanford; Marcus Mariota, Oregon; Jim Plunkett, Stanford; Andrew Luck, Stanford; Matt Leinart, USC

Running Backs
Marcus Allen, USC; OJ Simpson, USC; Charles White, USC; Reggie Bush, USC; Mike Garrett, USC

Wide Receivers
Keyshawn Johnson, USC; Lynn Swann, USC; Marqise Lee, USC; JJ Stokes, UCLA; Ken Margerum, Stanford

Tight Ends
Tony Gonzalez, California; Charle Young, USC

Offensive Line

Jonathan Ogden, UCLA; Ron Yary, USC; Tony Boselli, USC; Anthony Munoz, USC; Lincoln Kennedy, Washington; Brad Budde, USC; Randall McDaniel, Arizona State

Defensive Ends
Tedy Bruschi, Arizona; Terrell Suggs, Arizona State; Willie McGinest, USC; Andre Carter, California; Jim Jeffcoat, Arizona State

Defensive Tackles
Steve Emtman, Washington; Haloti Ngata, Oregon; Rob Waldrop, Arizona; Leonard Williams, USC; Ed White, California

Junior Seau, USC; Jerry Robinson, UCLA; Ricky Hunley, Arizona; Richard Wood, USC; Chris Claiborne, USC

Joey Browner, USC; Mel Renfro, Oregon; Chris McAlister, Arizona; Antoine Cason, Arizona

Ronnie Lott, USC; Kenny Easley, UCLA; Troy Polamalu, USC; Mark Carrier, USC

Jason Hanson, Washington State

Tom Hackett, Utah

Reggie Bush, USC

John McKay, USC