Jon Kitna Joins the Fleet

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Former Seahawks quarterback Jon Kitna is the new offensive coordinator for the San Diego Fleet, one of the teams making up the new Alliance of American Football.

Kitna played with four teams during his NFL career: the Seahawks (1996-2000), Cincinnati Bengals (2001-2005), Detroit Lions (2006-2008), and the Dallas Cowboys (2009-2011, 2013).

Following his retirement from the NFL, Kitna began his coaching career at his alma mater, Lincoln High School, in Tacoma, Washington, where he recorded a 24-8 record as a head coach before taking over the coaching duties at Waxahachie (Texas) High School. While at the helm for Waxahachie, Kitna posted a 20-13 record in three seasons for the Indians prior to taking over Brophy (Arizona) Prep in February, 2018.

Kitna will continue as the head coach with Brophy Prep in addition to his new job with the San Diego Fleet. His son, Matt, will serve as an assistant offensive line coach for the Fleet.

“I spoke with (Brophy Prep) administration and laid that plan out to see how that all will work,” said Kitna. “The league gets over before the end of April. I’m a big believer in two-sport athletes, too. Those football players not doing a second sport can get in the weight room and work to get stronger and better conditioned. The first couple of weeks in January are a dead period for (college) recruiting. All of our recruiting, what we get done for the kids, is ahead of time. It’s a good opportunity. It will enhance what we’re doing here.”

And former Seahawks defensive backs coach Larry Marmie will be the defensive coordinator for the Fleet. Marmie was with the Seahawks in the 2006-2008 seasons, and he was also the St. Louis Rams defensive coordinator from 2004-2005 under Fleet head coach Mike Martz.

In addition to San Diego, there will be Alliance teams in Arizona, Atlanta, Birmingham, Memphis, Orlando, Salt Lake City and San Diego.

The eight-team league is set to begin play February 9, 2019, and will play a 10-game schedule, followed by two semifinal games and a championship.