Hall of Fame Honors for Rueben Mayes

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

The College Football Hall of Fame, the Pacific Northwest Football Hall of Fame, and now the State of Washington Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018. With two Halls of Fame honors already under his belt, Seahawks Legend Rueben Mayes will soon be adding a third.

Mayes was an All-American running back for the Washington State Cougars and set an NCAA record with 357 rushing yards against Oregon in 1984. He was the NFL offensive rookie of the year in 1986 when he played for the New Orleans Saints (1986-1991). In seven NFL seasons, including the 1992-2993 seasons with the Seahawks, Mayes was a two-time Pro Bowl selection (1986 and 1987). He played in all 16 regular season games in the 1992 season, with 28 carries for 72 yards (2.6 avg.) over that span. He played in 1 game in the 1993 season, with 1 carry for 2 yards.

Joining Mayes in the 2018 class: Seattle Mariner and Hall of Fame member Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle SuperSonics coach George Karl, Washington State football coach Mike Price, Kentucky Derby-winning jockey Alfred Johnson, Olympic heptathlete Kelly Blair LaBounty, Tacoma fastpitch pitcher Louise Mazzuca, and former Seattle baseball team owner Dan Dugdale (Seattle Siwashes (1907–08) and Seattle Giants (1911)).

The Washington State Hall of Fame is voted on by current and former sportswriters, broadcasters and historians from around the state. Induction ceremonies have not been scheduled but are planned for upcoming Seattle Mariners and WSU football games.

Plaques depicting each inductee are displayed at the Shanaman Sports Museum in the Tacoma Dome.