Cortez Kennedy Named to 2010 ACC Football Legends Class

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

KennedyMug175_0806Former University of Miami defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy has been selected to the 2010 Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends Class.

Kennedy was one of the defensive forces on Miami’s 1989 National Championship football team and helped lead the Hurricanes to a 22-2 record during the 1988 and 1989 seasons. During his time with the `Canes, Miami posted an 8-2 record against Top 15 teams, twice defeating the nation’s No. 1-ranked squad, ending the 1989 season as a nation’s top team after convincing wins over No. 1-ranked Notre Dame and No. 7 Alabama.

The third overall pick in the first round of the 1990 NFL Draft by the Seahawks, Kennedy played 11 seasons in the NFL, all with Seattle. Generally regarded as one of the top defensive linemen to play in the NFL, Kennedy was named to the Pro Bowl eight times and four times was tabbed as an All-Pro. In 1992 he was named the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year (AP).

A native of Osceola, Ark., Kennedy now resides in Orlando, Florida. He was inducted into the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame in 1994 and the Seahawks Ring of Honor in 2008.

In addition to Kennedy, the 2010 Legends Class includes: NC State’s Ted Brown (Apple Valley, Minn.), Georgia Tech’s Randy Rhino (Marietta, Ga.), Clemson’s Steve Fuller (Enid, Okla.), Boston College’s Tony Thurman (Lynn, Mass.), Maryland’s Darryl Hill (Laurel, Md.), Florida State’s Peter Boulware (Tallahassee, Fla.), Virginia Tech’s Cornell Brown (Blacksburg, Va.), Duke’s Jay Wilkinson (Houston, Tex.), North Carolina’s Ethan Horton (Charlotte, N.C.), Virginia’s Barry Word (Haymarket, Va.) and Wake Forest’s Larry Hopkins (Winston-Salem, N.C.).

The Legends will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event on Friday, Dec. 3, and will also be recognized during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the 6th Annual Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship, which has a 4:45 p.m. PT kickoff on Dec. 4 and will be nationally televised by ESPN.