Brian Bosworth to be Inducted into 2015 College Football Hall of Fame

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather


Congratulations to former Seahawks linebacker Brian Bosworth, who will join 14 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches in the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class. The induction ceremony will be at the 58th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2015, at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

The only two-time recipient of the Butkus Award (1985 and 1986) as the nation’s top linebacker, Brian Bosworth left an indelible mark on college football during his All-America career at Oklahoma. He becomes the 21st Sooner to enter the College Football Hall of Fame.

A consensus First Team All-American in 1985 and 1986, Bosworth led Oklahoma to the 1985 National Championship after recording 13 solo tackles against Penn State in the Orange Bowl. Playing for College Football Hall of Fame coach Barry Switzer, he led the Sooners to three straight Orange Bowl appearances, three Big Eight Conference championships and a 31-4-1 overall record during his time in Norman. The three-time all-conference selection set the single-game school record with 22 tackles against Miami (Fla.) in 1986, and he finished fourth in the that year’s Heisman Trophy voting.

Bosworth led Oklahoma in tackles all three seasons, and he finished his career with 395 tackles while playing alongside Hall of Famers Tony Casillas and Keith Jackson.

Bosworth also excelled off the field, graduating early with a degree in communications. He was named to the Academic All-Conference team all three seasons of his career, and he received Academic All-America honors in 1986.

Selected by the Seahawks in the 1987 NFL Supplemental Draft, Bosworth spent three seasons in Seattle, and he has worked in acting and real estate since his retirement. Active in the community, he founded a charity called Boz’s Kids, which has provided activities for underprivileged children in Oklahoma. ESPN Films’ 30 For 30: “Brian And The Boz” recently chronicled Bosworth’s Hall of Fame career.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class


TREV ALBERTS – LB, Nebraska (1990-93)
BRIAN BOSWORTH – LB, Oklahoma (1984-86)
BOB BREUNIG – LB, Arizona State (1972-74)
SEAN BREWER – DL, Millsaps (Miss.) (1989-92)
RUBEN BROWN – OT, Pittsburgh (1991-94)
WES CHANDLER – SE, Florida (1974-77)
THOM GATEWOOD – SE, Notre Dame (1969-71)
DICK JAURON – RB, Yale (1970-72)
CLINTON JONES – HB, Michigan State (1964-66)
LINCOLN KENNEDY – OT, Washington (1989-92)
ROB LYTLE (deceased) – RB, Michigan (1974-76)
MICHAEL PAYTON – QB, Marshall (1989-92)
ART STILL – DE, Kentucky (1974-77)
ZACH THOMAS – LB, Texas Tech (1992-95)
RICKY WILLIAMS – RB, Texas (1995-98)


BILL SNYDER – 187-94-1 (66.5%); Kansas State (1989-2005, 2009-Present)
JIM TRESSEL – 229-79-2 (74.2%); Youngstown State (1986-2000) and Ohio State (2001-10)