3 results for month: 02/2013

Kevin Mawae to be Inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame

<span class="mce_SELRES_start" style="width: 0px; line-height: 0; overflow: hidden; display: inline-block;" data-mce-type="bookmark"></span> Congratulations to Seahawks alumni Kevin Mawae, who will be inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame this June. An LSU standout, Mawae was one of the NFL’s top offensive linemen for 16 seasons, being voted to eight Pro Bowls and selected to seven All-Pro teams. "I'm proud to be one of the inductees and represent the state of Louisiana, LSU and my family," said Mawae. "I thank Coach (Mike) Archer, who recruited me, and all the coaches I played for while I was ...

Read More

Isaiah Kacyvenski is Leading the Charge to Make Football Safer

Isaiah Kacyvenski explains the inner workings of the CheckLight helmet senser on TechCrunch TV. Football coaches historically carried a special affinity for players who treated themselves as human missiles. Their highest compliment often was to laud a player for exhibiting “a reckless disregard” for his body. Isaiah Kacyvenski was such a perfect example of this breed of player that he made a living at it as a linebacker with the Seahawks for six seasons (2000-2006, St. Louis: 2006). In a way, concussions were an indicator Kacyvenski was doing his job. Whether absorbing or delivering them, they were a sign he was contributing to violent ...

Read More

The Seahawks at the 22nd Taste of the NFL

February 12, 2013 By Bill Boehlke The annual Super Bowl weekend puts the spotlight on a number of events beyond the actual game itself. The evening before the Ravens and the 49ers met on the field in Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans, players and chefs representing each of the NFL teams met in the kitchen for some friendly competition as part of the 22nd Taste of the NFL. Representing the Seahawks were alumni Craig Terrill (DT, 2004-2010), along with chef John Howie of the Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar located in Bellevue, WA. Craig was the winner of the Lou Groza Award, named after one of the all-time great kickers in football history ...

Read More